Welles Prize

The Welles Prize was launched in memory of former Knight-Bagehot Fellowship Director Christopher J. Welles. A leading business writer and editor for 40 years, Welles was known for his penetrating accounts of corporate abuse and misbehavior. The Welles Prize is awarded annually for an exceptional business story or series by a former Knight-Bagehot fellow.

The recipient of the prize receives $500.

DEADLINE: Monday, July 15, 2024 at 11:59 p.m.

Entry Guidelines

  • The Welles Prize is open to alumni of the Knight-Bagehot Fellowship.
  • The work should reflect the rigor and sophistication expected of Knight-Bagehot alums.
  • Work must have been published between January 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024.
  • Self-nominations are welcome.
  • Stories with shared bylines may be submitted if the work was driven by the Knight-Bagehot alum. Please elaborate on the alum’s role in the cover note. Only Knight-Bagehot alumni will be presented an award on stories with shared bylines.
  • Nominations for a multi-year body of work are acceptable so long they are also reflected in work done the entry timeframe.
  • There is no entry fee.

Note: We do not expect you to do a heavy lift for your recommendation. Most importantly, tell us in your own words why this person is deserving of the Welles Prize in 2024. If you have links to the work, please add them.

Questions? Contact Amy Singer, Deputy Director, Knight-Bagehot Fellowship